This blog is going to be about a lot of things. Generally speaking, it's going to try to be optimistic, to show where we as a society can move to be better. To not destroy our planet, to not allow monopolistic take advantage of the capitalistic system we've built up. In the same generality, I think humans are capable of a lot when the put their minds to it. ദ്ദി(˵ •̀ ᴗ - ˵ ) ✧

But for this one post, I'm gonna just vent out my perspective on the entire world that we find ourselves in. Specifically from Canadian perspective, because for the time being I have no way to live in any other reality, but also in context of the world.

Every day, every one of us relies on giant companies to live. Whether it be the grocery stores that feed them, or the housing market that shelters them, or the internet and cell phone companies that allow them to do their jobs and stay connected. Meanwhile the tech giants hold monopolistic power and openly collect hordes of data about their users. Data that has increasingly and increasingly been the target of cybercrime

Then guess what those giant companies do? They buy up smaller competition. Jobs get folded. The now sub-brand becomes little more than a front. We get "competition" that's three companies in 27 trenchcoats. (Loblaws ᶠᶸᶜᵏᵧₒᵤ!) It's happened again and again and again in our economy and our regulatory agencies don't give a shit. Our only saving grace is the EU, and maybe sometimes California. We inherit their benefits by good grace. And sure, sometimes other states or provinces will make good moves, but it's never quick enough. It's always slanted towards the rich and the powerful. (¬_¬")

And then there's governing structures. The same entity that paves your sidewalks, funds your transit, your healthcare (lol), manages your food and your water and the business the country conducts, can also punch you in the face, order your First Nation settlement closed for a pipeline, or have you rot in a cell.

There is very little that the individual can do, and therefore I can get it. Nobody cares. Everyone feels a little helpless, and often only barely has enough time to manage their life. Add on that misinformation, disinformation, and a lack of 'truth' are becoming far more prevalent... it's a wonder we make any progress at all sometimes ૮ ◞ ﻌ ◟ ა

But guess what? We can do more when we work together. Talking to other people, networking. We already know we are a highly social (and often nepotistic) society. When enough people band together to do something, the benefits to that group are exponential. This is why political parties exist, why power structures in private companies exist... it's the reason we have a five day work week!

I believe that we have the potential to do so much. We need to educate each other, we need to help each other. Not everyone will agree, but I think the majority of people want to see our cities thriving, our vulnerable populations (2SLGBTQIA+, BIPOC, underhoused and underemployed individuals, people requiring mental health or substance use supports) taken care of, and our planet looked after.

This is why I am starting a new chapter in my life. Urbanism has been an intensifying interest and it's what I want to put my life into. I've wanted to make content too, and now I have the time to.

I hope you'll join me! This blog may be a lil dry at times. I've never written like this. I realized losing microblogging in the X apocalypse took away an outlet I used to get out my thoughts. I've wanted to start something like this for a while and I've got plenty of ideas. ૮₍´。ᵔ ꈊ ᵔ。`₎ა



Jared ฅ•ﻌ•